top of page
  • Writer's pictureArchdiocese of Bombay

Cardinal Oswald Reappointed to the Council of Cardinals

Image used for represetation purpose only

The Holy Father Francis, having to renew the Council of Cardinals because the mandate of the previous one has expired, has appointed the following Cardinals as members of the new Council:

His Eminence Card. Pietro Parolin, Secretary of State

His Eminence Card. Fernando Vérgez Alzaga, L.C., President of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State and President of the Governorate of Vatican City State

His Eminence Card. Fridolin Ambongo Besungu, O.F.M. Cap., Archbishop of Kinshasa (Democratic Republic of Congo)

His Eminence Card. Oswald Gracias, Archbishop of Bombay (India)

His Eminence Card. Seán Patrick O'Malley, O.F.M.Cap., Metropolitan Archbishop of Boston (United States of America)

His Eminence Card. Juan José Omella Omella, Metropolitan Archbishop of Barcelona (Spain)

His Eminence Card. Gérald C. Lacroix, Archbishop of Québec (Canada)

His Eminence Card. Jean-Claude Hollerich, SJ, Archbishop of Luxembourg (Luxembourg)

His Eminence Card. Sérgio da Rocha, Metropolitan Archbishop of São Salvador da Bahia (Brazil)

The Secretary will be H.E. Msgr. Marco Mellino, Titular Bishop. of Cresima (Italy)

The next meeting will be held on April 24 at 9.00 in Casa Santa Marta.

The Council of Cardinals is a group of cardinals of the Catholic Church appointed by Pope Francis to serve as his advisers. Announced on 13 April 2013, one month after his election, the council was formally established on 28 September of the same year.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page